top of page
%E2%80%94Pngtree%E2%80%94fashion%20movie
  • Writer's pictureKelly Conner

Elf

Updated: May 16, 2022

This is one of the movies I hear about the most when they talk about their ultimate go-to movies for Christmastime. It almost doesn't qualify for this list for me. I've seen random clips of this movie, maybe 5 or 10 minutes at the most in one scene. I've also seen the musical at Toby's Dinner Theater in Columbia, MD and watched the Movies That Made Us episode on Netflix. I know the storyline, I know how it was made, and I know the music they created for the musical. What I haven't seen is how the movie is pieced together with Will Farrell, Zoey Deschanel and James Caan. I feel like this dynamic, especially with Will Ferrell as Buddy, is going to feel different than the musical I saw anyway. The reason I've never seen this before is because Will Ferrell is hit or miss with me. Some of his movies, where he's more of a caricature instead of a character, fall flat with me. I just don't find the humor funny. Things like Taladega Nights, Walk Hard and Step Brothers are movies I haven't been able to watch because the characters are so ridiculous or their antics are so cringe-worthy that I couldn't force myself to even start the films. This film hovers on the border of that for me. It is an extreme character, but it doesn't seem to be so far into the realm of ridiculous that I feel an aversion to it. I just never really started the film because it didn't draw me in. Ferrell's films that are a little more subdued, like The Other Guys, The Lego Movie and, my personal favorite, Stranger than Fiction, I was able to really enjoy. His humor in those films were just enough over the top without going over the peak of utter ridiculousness. So, I'm hopeful for Elf to ride that line, but not go full tilt over the edge. I guess it's time to watch the movie and find out for myself.




I sat down to watch this film while wrapping my Christmas presents. This was definitely fun to watch. Will Ferrell rode the line between absurd and hilarity quite well throughout the film. There were a few moments that I could have lived without, especially his level of sugar consumption. Those were a bit sickening to watch, but I'm sure that was the point. After watching the Netflix special on this movie, it made me appreciate little moments in the film that I may not have noticed before. Like the guy running in red sweats that he mistook for Santa. That guy was just out and about that day. He wasn't an extra that they hired, it was just perfect ad libbing on Ferrell's part. It fits right in with all the other "feel good" holiday movies. I'm not sure if I would turn it on specifically looking for this movie, but I would watch it again if it happened to be on. The early part of the film, at the North Pole, was a dead ringer for the Rankin/Bass formula for Christmas. You can clearly tell they were going for that specific look with everything. I love the general concept of what would happen to the baby that decided to go home with Santa in his toy sack and it's that concept that guides his entire character throughout the film. His childlike personality embodies the things at Christmas that seem to light our hearts up. I don't know many other actors who would have been able to pull it off so well. In the Netflix show, it was explained that they thought of Ferrell first and had no other person they wanted for the role. I can completely agree with their decision.


James Caan plays the hardened business executive who doesn't have time for his family or any life outside of his work. Buddy comes along and throws that all up in the air, but gets Walter to notice that there are things more important than just work. He gets sent to the Christmas section of a department store when someone mistakes him for an employee working with the Santa Claus. His interactions with the employees, Santa and the kids where he's so enthusiastic about Christmas is a bit infectious and reminds you of the reasons we fell in love with this holiday to begin with. It's so easy to get burned out on Christmas because we stress so much over everything that seems to overwhelm us. Sometimes it's nice to be reminded of the good things there are, too. So, he makes some friends, changes some hearts to get them back into the Christmas spirit again and finds a way to get Walter to see that he should pay more attention to his family and that his entire life can't be dedicated solely to work.


I love that Ed Asner plays Santa Claus. He really fits the role perfectly. And Bob Newhart as Papa Elf was a lot of fun, too. Seeing some of the classic actors in this film adds to it's genuine feel. Zoey Deschanel brings some light and brightness into the movie, as well. Her voice is perfect for holiday songs and her character displays what a lot of us feel during the holidays. That's it's all just become overwhelming and you just trudge through it. It's nice to see that mindset because anyone that works in retail can relate to it. It is nice to be reminded that there are good things to the season, too.


To sum it all up, it's a film I would watch again, but I think it would be more about randomly coming across it than actively searching it out. It has all the classic characteristics that we've come to expect from feel good holiday movies along with the humor we need to lighten our moods during a season that can feel like it's weighing us down. It's a solid choice for a holiday movie.


I have one last holiday film left to watch. It's a Wonderful Life is the last for the year and I feel like this is an absolute must-see film. Stay tuned for next time!



For more movie love, check out my other blog, "You're Watching That Again?!"


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
%25E2%2580%2594Pngtree%25E2%2580%2594fas
bottom of page