top of page
%E2%80%94Pngtree%E2%80%94fashion%20movie
  • Writer's pictureKelly Conner

Bad Santa

Updated: May 16, 2022

This movie has been recommended to me too many times to count. People talk about how funny this movie is and how much they laughed while watching it. I've never been able to get past the premise of a nasty drunk being Santa Claus and talking to children. The whole concept grates against my nerves and I've not been able to get past it. People have told me that he befriends one of these kids and he learns how to care about at least one person other than himself, but it's not enough to get me to watch it. I've never watched Horrible Bosses and Wedding Crashers for the same reason, and yes I know that people think they're super funny. There are some things that just aren't funny to me because I think they're subjects that you just don't mess with. I never watched Bad Moms either until my Mom wanted to watch Bad Moms Christmas one year and we went to the theaters together. I enjoyed that movie a lot, but when it showed a therapist blaming the patient for events wholly out of her control, I couldn't help but be aggravated by it instead of amused. Same with the spa worker. Inappropriate conversations and behavior in a professional setting get to me. This blog is the only reason I'm watching this movie. For you all. Lol. Let's see what I think. Time to watch the movie.




This film is exactly what I thought it would be. Willie is the most depraved and unconscionable man. To take a most sacred position to children and act the way he does is absolutely revolting. For the first 30-40 minutes, I just wanted to turn off the movie and not go any further because I couldn't even consider it funny for even just a fictionalized situation like this because there really are people in the world that are like that. I hope they never take on a position of Santa Claus (or other childhood heroes) where young children have to be exposed to them and their behavior. The first time I even laughed during this movie was during the boxing scene and that's not close to beginning at all. The concept of the heist was something I wasn't expecting, but it made more sense why a person like that was in the position he was. It's also a pretty brilliant idea to get in on the inside where you're expected to never show back up the next day for another day of work, so your disappearance isn't even noticed.


The kid, Thurman, is painfully awkward. I have to tip my hat to Brett Kelly for that performance. It really hurt to watch just how awkward he was, so that is some amazing acting to stay so straight faced when placed in the most ridiculous situations. This movie has a ton of flawed characters, but they're not completely off base for some real-life personalities. The bartender with a major obsession with Santa Claus is a bit extreme, but I'm sure it's happened. People are weird, generally speaking. It's just usually kept hidden in general society. I absolutely loved seeing Cloris Leachman in this film. She always picks roles that I enjoy, and this one is no different. "Do you want some sandwiches?" Especially when she looked dead. She nailed that so well and I bet she had fun doing it. I also enjoyed Tony Cox's performance. He really nailed Willie with the truth of his abhorrent behavior multiple times and said everything I was thinking in far more impassioned ways than I could have come up with. Granted, some of that is on the writers for coming up with the right dialogue, but Tony delivered it with the perfect amount of vitriol. Then there is John Ritter performing a role that I never would have pictured him in, but felt he delivered it perfectly. He's a very timid, uncomfortable man when faced with the situations that Willie puts him in, which happens a lot. It's completely uncomfortable to watch, especially the scenes where he's talking to Gin, played by Bernie Mac. I couldn't get over just how unsettling it was to watch his performance, especially considering how bright and humorous he normally is in his other roles. Some great acting on his part. I also noticed the memorial message at the beginning of the movie which meant that he had passed on in the time between filming and it finally being released. So sad to know that he never got to see this film be released and the success it had afterwards.


I can honestly say that I will never watch this movie again. The first half is just too much for me to be able to enjoy and the second half, while redeeming in some ways, wasn't enough for me to feel worth a re-watch. I know plenty of you have enjoyed this film and laughed at the outrageous and farcical humor in it, but I just can't enjoy it with you. In some ways, I am so mired in reality and responsibility that I can't seem to let it go, even for a fictionalized situation such as this. I can't help it, so I just accept it as part of my personality and just carry on. It is what it is. I can't say I recommend watching this movie, but I know there are people out there who enjoy this type of film, so this might be something to look for if you can get past the general premise of the film. Stay tuned for my next movie, Elf, which I'll be watching on HBO, but is also available on Starz and Hulu.



For more movie love, check out my other blog, "You're Watching That Again?!"

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Elf

%25E2%2580%2594Pngtree%25E2%2580%2594fas
bottom of page