top of page
%E2%80%94Pngtree%E2%80%94fashion%20movie
  • Writer's pictureKelly Conner

West Side Story

Updated: May 16, 2022

September 15th began Hispanic Heritage Month, so I decided to watch West Side Story in honor of it. Not only is this a story of a Puerto Rican New York gang rivaling a gang of white New Yorkers, it's also a film that earned the first Latina Oscar ever. Rita Morena won an Oscar for her performance and the film won 9 out of the 10 other nominations they received that year. It was well praised by the public and critics alike. I know it roughly follows a Romeo & Juliet theme with the warring factions and love trying to break through the barrier between the two. I know it's a musical and the soundtrack won a Grammy that year. I also have heard people mention how some of the stereotypes don't age well, but it's still worth the watch. I've seen clips of brightly colored sets and costumes, lots of choreographed dance numbers and a large cast. They've been working on a remake of this movie that is set to release this year, but I'm always hesitant about remakes. They hardly live up to their predecessors, so they've been more of a let down than not. I've got an open mind for this one, though, and can't wait to see what it's like. So, let's check this out and see what it's about!




So, I feel like I'm in the middle with this one. I enjoyed most of it, but didn't connect with most of the songs. Still not sure why. I enjoyed the song "America" most because of the life behind it and the passion with which the ladies sang. I know, in general, the Puerto Rican culture is full of life and energy, so it makes sense for the song to follow in the footsteps of that culture. It felt like a lot of the rest of the songs sang by the Sharks didn't have the same life and energy and maybe that's because of the serious nature of living in a city where they were judged and unwelcome weighed on them and their minds. I've known the song "I Feel Pretty" because of some other movie or commercial, but had never heard it fully or in context. Some of the earlier songs felt disjointed from the film somehow. I can't tell if it's in the composition or the cadence of it, but something didn't connect with me in some of the songs. I'm wondering if I'd have seen this on Broadway instead, I might be more connected with it. Maybe when the new version comes out later this year I'll connect with them then.


It's a story deep with prejudice from a time when the white majority felt they were entitled to be the priority in all things and equality was a quaint idea, but it was no where near a reality. People forget all the time just how deep racial prejudice goes and how many people it can hurt. I can understand holding an individual's actions against them, but it isn't fair to hold an entire culture up to the failings of a few individuals. Or an entire race that spans multiple countries, for that matter. It's unrealistic and unfair to think that everyone acts the same. I wouldn't want someone judging me based on what Hitler and the Nazi's did, but there are some who can't even see that it is exactly what they're doing with different races. Some blame all Asian countries for the atrocities they experienced in Vietnam, others blame any Hispanic looking person for some slight caused by a single person or small group that they interacted with negatively in some way. Some judge based on what they hear in the media, which is even further unjust since you can't even verify the information you're judging them on. It's a vicious circle where one hates what they don't understand and acts aggressively towards the other. Then, in response, the other group retaliates in kind and it amplifies into something bigger. Now the original group feels vindicated and gets worse and the cycle continues until it blows up into a giant conflict. That's what happens in this film.


The Jets are the gang that holds the turf of the city streets. The Sharks move in and the Jets aren't happy about what they see as an invasion of their turf and they attack Bernard on the first day that he arrives. This sets the cycle for how everyone acts in the future. It's funny how one single act of hate can spark a lifestyle of fighting against each other instead of living in a quiet acceptance of each other. It's a constant battle back and forth until it reaches a boiling point and they demand a war. There is a chance for the lines to blur, though, with the dance. An ex-Jet falls instantly in love with the sister of a Shark. This could be the thing that unites them, but everyone seems to want to tear them apart. It goes against the prejudices that each group holds against the other and no one is willing to give any ground to the other. I found myself hoping that this story didn't go the full route of Romeo & Juliet, but I was naïve. The possibility of that having a happy ending where the relationship is what bridges the gap between the warring groups wasn't so possible in the 50s, when this was set. They didn't exactly go the full route of R&J, but they definitely came close. It was still a tragedy that leaves you with the feeling that more should be done to change our world to be more inclusive and welcoming. We could save many a lot of heartache if we did.


Natalie Wood did an excellent job with the role, despite being of Russian descent, not Hispanic. I don't know the nuances of a Puerto Rican accent, but I feel she did well to make sure her words were annunciated well and had the speed and rhythm that Hispanic languages generally have. She may not have been the ideal casting from a modern standpoint, but I feel like she studied and practiced hard to get this one right, as best as she could. I was shocked to realize that she was the same girl from Miracle on 34th Street! She'd grown so much in the few years between the two films. I recognized her eyes and general facial structure and knew I had seen her at a younger age, but didn't even put two and two together to come to that conclusion. I can't believe she was only about 18 when she filmed this movie. The rest of the cast did a great job, especially with the choreography and I enjoyed it. Even the fight scenes were more of a dance and was quite artfully done.


I'm curious to how they'll do with the remake coming out in December. I'm wondering if the songs will feel more connected to the story and if they'll give them a modern update. I'm hoping that their casting choices of people who have actually performed on Broadway will help to give the movie more depth and drama than a typical casting would. I can't say whether I'll pay to see it in a theater, but I might. I'd especially like to see the re-filming of the dance scene where they first see each other. Definitely wasn't a fan of the blurred screen around the lead characters. I understand what they were going for by showing the rest of the world melting away to where it's just them alone in the room, but I didn't like that style of editing for that scene. So, it was an entertaining watch, but it didn't "wow" me. It was just okay for me. I know it's a favorite to some and they really love the music, but it just wasn't for me. Can't win them all, right?


For my next movie, I'm going to watch an Alfred Hitchcock film. I can't decide between The Birds and Psycho. What do you all think? Which one should I pick? You'll find out with my next post! Stay tuned!



For more movie love, check out my other blog, "You're Watching That Again?!"

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Elf

%25E2%2580%2594Pngtree%25E2%2580%2594fas
bottom of page